top of page

Just because someone loves you, doesn’t mean their love is right for you.

Just because someone loves you, doesn’t mean their love is right for you.

Not all love is good love. This is a tool that I think you learned and grew into holding. It’s now secure in your belt, but every now and then you have to patch the holes in your belt to make sure it doesn’t fall out.

What I mean by this is that sometimes we hold on to people because they love us and they care for us, but what we don’t realize is that if their love isn’t helping us, it’s okay to distance yourself and walk away. You don’t have to keep people in your life if they hurt you.

An example that I learned this through was a friend who really did love me and I loved having this friend, but somewhere along the way, our differences just began hurting us. My friend liked to communicate with passive aggressiveness and I like to talk through everything. Neither of us were willing to budge oon this and eventually his ways just made me doubt myself. They made me feel lesser than when I wasn’t around him and I could see my confidence, something I worked extra hard to attain, wilting away around him.

To some this may seem like an obvious choice to let go, but what made it hard was that he still did care. He would try to make me laugh when I was down. He once fixed the couch in my apartment because a nail was sticking out and it stabbed me. He would try to make my life better but some differences just end up hurting more than all the things he helped.

I had to let go of him but it was hard because our love for each other wasn’t fake. It just wasn’t right for us. It wasn’t a good love. As hard as it was, I let him go. The once fun love turned toxic and it wasn’t necessary keeping that in my life despite how good it may have once felt.

Now I know that you have this tool in your belt, but I wanted to make sure you keep it sharpened and just wanted to remind you to use it. You don’t have to be mean or hurt someone in the process of letting them go but prioritizing yourself is never a bad thing. Just do it with grace and Just Do It.

Recent Posts

See All

I Finally Disarmed My Self-Destruct Button

I have this tendency to want to just cancel things if I don’t see a way for them to work and they aren’t necessary in my life. This often ends up being things like my birthday parties or trips I want

Oasis += Mind

I find my solitude inside my mind. I also find freedom and growth and a cure from loneliness in my mind. How can my place of solitude and cure for loneliness be the same? It’s because my mind is where

What Makes Me Feel Strong

Honestly the first answer would be writing my thoughts down makes me feel strong, but since you all have heard me rave about writing in previous posts, I want to talk about another thing – exercising.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page