top of page

What Makes Me Feel Strong

Honestly the first answer would be writing my thoughts down makes me feel strong, but since you all have heard me rave about writing in previous posts, I want to talk about another thing – exercising.

Now I know literally exercise makes you physically strong, but hear me out about the mental strength I gain.

A lot of times, I feel like society and honestly being a female in society makes it harder to always have control. We have curfews decided by the sunlight. We have to fight extra hard to be heard or seen until we are walking in a big city and would do anything to just be invisible to the cat callers and odd people staring. But when I’m exercising and when I’m feeling movement and energy go through my body, it’s the one time I forget about those moments of no control.

I still don’t enjoy every type of exercise, trust me, and I know most people don’t either. But some activities take me into different worlds where I can fantasize. And some activities are honestly just plain enjoyable. If you hate to exercise but know you want to start, I encourage you to find these type of activities for you. I’m listing what they are for me, below:

  1. Dancing – I love music and I will take any opportunity to connect with it. Most of the time, I write scenes inspired by music, but oftentimes I turn into a storyteller through dance. I’ll dress up in my favorite outfits and pretend I’m a street dancer or at a club and just dance in the living room. Recently my roommate and I have also started daily exercise routines by playing Just Dance. It doesn’t even feel like exercise. It just feels like me and my best friend enjoying the day and competing for fun.

  2. Swimming – whether I do laps ten feet long or 50 feet, I thoroughly enjoy the way you feel weightless in water and how calming and soothing this exercise is on your body and joints. This is a great alternative for an activity that doesn’t drain you out in a painful way. When I swim, I feel every inch of my body in my control and I leave refreshed.

  3. Boxing – when im feeling the most powerless, I like to try boxing. This activity is still very new to me, but it gives me a sense of thrill and danger that’s under my control. When I’m in a boxing gym, I’m transported into my favorite stories (like Perfect Addiction) or inspired to write my own stories (since as a fantasy writer my main characters are always searching for new fighting techniques against demons).

  4. Yoga – have you ever heard Billie Eilish’ s Not My Responsibility. Nothing is ever more relaxing but also badass to me than to be stretching and practicing yoga poses while listening to that song and letting go of any responsibility I take over how people want to view me. Something about yoga just makes you realize your authentic self and this song exudes confidence in letting yourself live and letting others think whatever they want.

  5. Biking – racing through the wind is fun enough but I found myself loving this activity as an alternative to walking. I’d use it as a time to talk to my friends and we exercised side by side. I’ve had book club meetings discussing our favorite stories or political debates all while biking in my neighborhood with a friend.

  6. Walking – now this one is my ‘time to escape reality’ exercise. I put in my favorite songs and I go to walk wherever whenever. The people watching me probably see someone strutting to then slowly watching the flowers as the music changes, but to me I get to live through several lives and stories and sometimes leave inspired to write something new.

So these are some of my most recent forms of exercise that have made me feel in control and not like I’m doing a chore. It’s almost freeing because while they all help me be more physically fit, it’s more unlocking the mental fitness part of exercise that I truly look forward to. And this has made exercise go from mentally and physically taxing to mentally and physically liberating.

Comment below what activities do this for you!

Recent Posts

See All

I Finally Disarmed My Self-Destruct Button

I have this tendency to want to just cancel things if I don’t see a way for them to work and they aren’t necessary in my life. This often ends up being things like my birthday parties or trips I want

Oasis += Mind

I find my solitude inside my mind. I also find freedom and growth and a cure from loneliness in my mind. How can my place of solitude and cure for loneliness be the same? It’s because my mind is where

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page