top of page

‘Music On My Playlist’ + Book Playlists

Whenever someone asks me about what music I like, I always say that my only criteria is:

  1. it makes me feel something

  2. it is fun to sing

I think my relationship to music has always been story-based. From my very first iPod that I would have to ask my sister to get me songs on to my current spotify playlists, every song turns into a story in my head.

When I listen to Whatcha Say by Jason Derulo, I don’t only hear the tikTok sound or the gossip girl scene. I hear the original song playing in eleven-year-old me’s headphones while riding a train in Switzerland. I remember creating a storyline about my character Sky trying to get his girlfriend back.

When I hear Animal by Troye Sivan, I think of my main characters falling in love but being forbidden to each other. I think of them saying “no angels can beckon me back. It’s hotter than hell where I’m at” since my main character is quite literally the daughter of the devil. I think of how “I told you something safe. Something I’ve never said before” is perfect for the first time my main character says ‘I love you’ to her significant other.

When I hear Somewhere Only We Know by Keane, I think of the weeping willow tree my main characters meet at and then routinely find their way back to when they need to escape or just be alone together. It’s somewhere only they know.

When I hear anything on Taylor Swift’s Reputation album, I am astounded by the fact that she created songs that perfectly align with the storylines I made in my head. From “ocean blue eyes” to “whiskey on rocks”, “king of my heart”, “don’t blame me love made me”, “reputation precedes me, in rumors I’m knee deep… I wanna be your endgame”, “you make everyone disappear…cause we breakdown a little but when you get me alone, its so simple” to so many more lines in each song, I can’t get how well the album reflects my main character, Sameera Bleu’s life.

Because of all these stories swirling in my head, I create playlists for my books, book series, characters, scenes, couples, and even random storylines. I have a playlist for the music my main character would train to and one for a soundtrack I’d want if my book series became a tv show.

You can check them all out on my Spotify – https://open.spotify.com/user/fieryashes11

And you can read my debut novel and hopefully connect songs to scenes on Amazon – https://smile.amazon.com/Game-Plan-Alisha-Sehgal-ebook/dp/B093WLYTLY/

Or at your local Barnes and Noble!

Recent Posts

See All

How Do You Feel When You Look At The Stars

I remember the stories people like to tell when they see shapes in the stars. I think about how our man-made lights sometimes drown out the lights of the sky. It’s so eerie that our human emotions and

I Finally Disarmed My Self-Destruct Button

I have this tendency to want to just cancel things if I don’t see a way for them to work and they aren’t necessary in my life. This often ends up being things like my birthday parties or trips I want

I Dreamt Of A Siren

When I was younger, I had a dream that felt all too familiar. Imagine if dreams could be 4D. I had lived it before, but I didn’t remember when. I had felt the sandy beaches I walked on in the dream be

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. I’m a great place for you to tell a story and let your users know a little more about you.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page